And I thank you....

I have listed below the names and locations of people that have gone to the effort of sending in a postcard (Yes, I mean Real postcards - By Mail). A big thanks to all these people for letting me know I am not wasting my time posting the footy results and teams each week.

Name             Email address              City             Country
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hans Wojta       johann.wojta@univie.ac.at  Vienna           Austria
Morgan Dunbar                               Canberra, ACT    Australia
Skerry                                      Armidale, NSW    Australia
Frank Bunton     bunton@acay.com.au         Bateau Bay, NSW  Australia
Alastair Wilson  amw08@uow.edu.au           Wollongong, NSW  Australia
Angi Phillips    sphillip@ozemail.com.au    Coconut Grove,NT Australia
A&B Ross         Mataranka Cabins           Mataranka, NT    Australia
Muhammad Iqbal                              Adelaide, SA     Australia
Mandy Jones                                 Somerset, Tas    Australia
Greg Padlett                                Nicolson, VIC    Australia
Richard Hayward  richard_hayward@muwayf.unimelb.edu.au
                                            North Melb, Vic  Australia
Rachel Smith     rsmith@agric.uwa.edu.au    Como, WA         Australia
Fran Smith                                  Joondanna, WA    Australia
Cynthia          andersc@ozemail.com.au     Perth, WA        Australia
Ross Wright                                                  Brunei
John Palmer      palmersp@acm.org           Calgary, ALB     Canada
Tedd McHenry                                Edmonton, ALB    Canada
G Bremner        gbremner@sdjo.bc.ca        Ashcrot, BC      Canada
Paul Mackey      pmackey@awinc.com          Fort St John, BC Canada
Terry Moore                                 Nelson, BC       Canada
John Brown       jabrown@unix.infoserve.net Vancouver, BC    Canada
Sue Brown        sebrown@unixg.ubc.ca       Vancouver, BC    Canada
Doug McEwan                                 Saskatchewan     Canada
Paul             pmaussie@fox.nstn.ca       Truro, Nova Scotia Canada
Edward Wedler                               Greenwood, Nova Scotia Canada
David Haimes     demmes@oncomdis.on.ca      Peterborough,ONT Canada
Craig Synder     csnyder@yorku.ca           Toronto, ONT     Canada
Charles Micallet ac386@torfree.net          Toronto, ONT     Canada
Jackie Cusack    jackie_cusack@scribe.sbe.scarborough.on.ca
                                            Toronto, ONT     Canada
Robyn & Nick     shakesby@entelchile.net    Antofagasta      Chile
Keir Semmens                                Santiago         Chile
Keir Semmens                                                 Costa Rica
Glenn Campbell                              Prague           Czechoslovakia
Jimmy Olsen      jimmy@idp.dk               Frederiksberg    Denmark
Lynne Bradshaw                              Kuopio           Finland
Jean-Luc Praz    100046.2455@compuserve.com Martigny         France
Jon Clyne        jclyne@cafe.orbital.fr     Paris            France
Silvio Basile    sbasile@karckhoff.mpg.de   Bad Nanheim      Germany
Joanne Haines    100321.3004@compuserve.com Frankfurt        Germany
Thomas Claus     tclaus@uni-goettingen.de   Goettingen       Germany
Wolfgang Hennig  whennig@t-online.de        Handewitt        Germany
Georg Jansseu                               Krefeld          Germany
Richard Morrish  106023.113@compuserve.com  Toao             Greece
Dave Phillips                               Budapest         Hungary
Gavin Bust       gaviin_bust@cp.disney.com	Kowloon          Hong Kong
greg Clough                                 Jakarta, Java    Indonesia
Bruce Morgan     morganb@rad.net.id         Jakarta, Java    Indonesia
Mark O'Donnell   mark@mie.iol.ie            Dublin           Ireland
Steve Bloch      s-bloch@netmedia.net.il    Jerusalem        Israel
Garry Berkovic   csberk@weizmann.weizmann.ac.il Rehovolt     Israel
Angelo Franze    anfranze@tin.it            Rome             Italy
Peter Swain                                 Rome             Italy
Paul Mc Cartin                              Kanagawa-Ken     Japan
Dave Collings    collings@chaos.bio.sci.osaka-u.ac.jp
                                            Osaka            Japan
Kazuhiro Goda    bya05247@niftyserve.or.jp  Osaka            Japan
Shunsuke Goda    bya05247@niftyserve.or.jp  Osaka            Japan
Luke Duggan      g620409@komaba.ecc.u-tokyo.ac.jp Tokyo      Japan
Steve Kirkby     skirkby@graph.gsi-mc.go.jp Tsukuba-shi      Japan
Peter, Nod & Phil                                            Kuwait
Kim Burke                                                    Kuwait
Phil Avery       pjavery@pc.jaring.my       Kuautan          Malaysia
Sharon Avery                                Kuautan          Malaysia
Robyn Kane       robkan@dds.nl              Amsterdam        Netherlands
Chris Rover                                 Herpen           Netherlands
Ben Adler        adler@vetmic.dgk.ruu.nl    Texel            Netherlands
Gary Day         g.day@irl.cri.nz           Auckland         New Zealand
Geoff Aitken     gaitken@clear.net.nz       Havelock Nth     New Zealand
Terry West       terry-west@global.net.pg   Lae              Papua New Guinea
Harry Sonnenberg tycosing@singnet.com.sg    Singapore        Singapore
Peter Bock       waranga@mbox2.singnet.com.sg                Singapore
Dave Lloyd                                  Munda            Solomon Islands
Steve            clarke@socsci.uct.ac.za    Cape Town        South Africa
Denny Sakkas     desa@diogenes.hcuge.ch     Geneve           Switzerland
David Wright     wright@ksc.th.com          Krabi            Thailand
Leigh Butler                                Dubai            United Arab Emirates
Sue Dubé                                    Sharjah          United Arab Emirates
Dan Casalaz      dan.casalaz@bris.ac.uk     Bristol          United Kingdom
Sharon Majundar  sjm26@damtp.cam.ac.uk      Cambridge        United Kingdom
Mirka Paskota    m.paskota@derby.ac.uk      Derby            United Kingdom
Simon Kerr       simonkerr@aol.com          Dewsbury         United Kingdom
Roisin Lamprell                             Enfield, London  United Kingdom
Sinroa Philpott                             Keele Uni        United Kingdom
Ab Halabi                                   Norwich          United Kingdom
Scott Campbell   Scott.campbell@philosophy.oxford.ac.uk Oxford  United Kingdom
David Gallus                                Shrivenham       United Kingdom
Phil Trovatello                             St. Albans       United Kingdom
Dave Mathews     dgm1@st-and.ac.uk          St. Andrews,Scot United Kingdom
Phil Picone      picone@wollock.demon.co.uk Farmborough      United Kingdom
David Campbell                              Keele,Staffordshire United Kingdom
Dean Rouse       dtr2@york.az.uk            York             United Kingdom
Dan Rodgers                                 Anchorage, AK    USA
John Shore       102071.600@compuserve.com  Huntsville, AL   USA
BW Radley        75603.1017@compuserve.com  Anaheim, CA      USA
Neil Brandom     72056.23@compuserve.com 
                 (Word from Down Under Mag) Balboa Island,CA USA
Hans                                        Barstow, CA      USA
Warick Potter                               Coronado, CA     USA
Russell McAbee   rsmcabee@earthlink.net     Marina del Rey,CA USA
John Demian      jwdemian@aol.com           Pleasanton, CA   USA
Dave             74357.2427@compuserve.com  San Diego, CA    USA
Neil Peterson    n4rpete@sr.pacbell.com     San Francisco,CA USA
Joe Sweeney                                 San Francisco,CA USA
Lisa Murphy      ozaddict@murmur.com        San Rafael, CA   USA
Derek Leahy      who knows...               Sunnyvale, CA    USA
Paul Gallop      st-moritz@to.ski.com       Aspen, CO        USA
Graham ORd       graham.ord@internetmci.com Colorado Springs,CO USA
Brett Lockwood   blockwoo@ball.com          Denver, CO       USA
Stephen Schell   sschell@frii.com           Denver, CO       USA
Bob Fullimwider  rf30@umail.umd.edu         Washington, DC   USA
P.               evanspl@me.udel.edu        Wilmington, DE   USA
Chuck Sorensen                              Wilmington, DE   USA
Julian Makin                                Daytona Beach,FL USA
Andrew McPherson amcpfl1957@aol.com         St Petersburg,FL USA
Philip Hunt      100033.2270@compuserve.com Atlanta, GA      USA
Jerry Byrne      byrnee@laua.net            Ewa Beach, HI    USA
Chuck Boehnke    cb@ichawaii.net            Hilo, HI         USA
John Sams                                   Des Moines, IA   USA
Klaus Aber                                  Carbondale, IL   USA
Mark Habner      m-habner@nwu.edu           Chicago, IL      USA
Rick Timms       75117.2222@compuserve.com  Chicago, IL      USA
Roger            roger@starnetinc.com       Chicago, IL      USA
JoAnn Lutes      jlutes@fgi.net             Petersburg, IL   USA
Larry McKinney   LBMcKinney@aol.com         Rock Island, IL  USA
Rick Hawn                                   Indianapolis, IN USA
Sean Quinn       smquinn@cord.iupui.edu     Bloomington, IN  USA
Steve Jones                                 Hutchinson, KS   USA
Richard Lipp     rwlipp@lenexa-umc.org      Overland Park,KS USA
Brian Bay                                   Salina, KS       USA
David Fox                                   Whitman, MA      USA
John Bobbit                                 Rockville, MD    USA
Don/Helena Morrison                         Rochester, MI    USA
Glenn Prementine                            White Bear Lake, MN USA
Owen Oakley      owen@fel.duke.edu          Durham, NC       USA
Jan Dash                                    Plainfield, NJ   USA
Daniel Koehne                               Albuqueque, NM   USA
Helen O'Connor   kelnana@aol.com            Santa Fe, NM     USA
James Hey                                   Las Vegas, NV    USA
Howard Bass      MBCD26A@prodigy.com        New York, NY     USA
Grant Carmody                               New York, NY     USA
Michael Brem     cartogman@aol.com          Buffalo, NY      USA
Jim Longo                                   Brooklyn, NY     USA
Cy Zibrik        zibrikcm@ucbeh.san.uc.edu  Cincinnati, OH   USA
Andrew Rodgers   arodgers@image.uoregon.edu Eugene, OR       USA
Jim Choban       dbcooper@pacifier.com      Portland, OR     USA
Martin Richardson mdr@shoc.org              Portland, OR     USA
Ross Gerin       jj-ross@itw.com            Allentown, PA    USA
Donald Lutes                                Monongahela, PA  USA
Lorraine Bignell lbignell@aol.com           Philadelphia,PA  USA
Neil Brennan     70461.2004@compuserve.com  Philadelphia,PA  USA
Stephen Downes   sdownesy@aol.com           Yardley, PA      USA
Mark Higgins     mhiggins@uriacc.uri.edu    Wakefield, RI    USA
Kethy Thorn      johnstonk@eofc.edu         Charleston, SC   USA
Jeff Weiss       0007298200@mcimail.com     Knoxville,TN     USA
Mike Hamilton    hamiltonmi@aol.com         Carrollton, TX   USA
Ewen             ewen@matahari.tamu.edu     College Station, TX USA
Mindy Cohen      mcohen@srqaol.jsc.nasa.gov Houston, TX      USA
Kirk Johnston    kjohnsto@heart.med.uth.tmc.edu Houston, TX  USA
Kevin& Lacey     WAGator@aol.com            Houston, TX      USA
The Weeds                                   San Antonio, TX  USA
Karl Wall        cokwall@ihc.com            Salt Lake City,UT USA
Douglas Taylor                              Culpeper, VA     USA
Bob Pack                                    Falls Church, VA USA
Arthur Davis                                Sterling, VA     USA
D&J Campain      campain@accessone.com      Auburn, WA       USA
Karen Robins-Browne                         Burlington, WA   USA
Frank Arrigo     frankarr@microsoft.com     Seattle, WA      USA
John Burbidge    burbidge@aol.com           Seattle, WA      USA
Dave Christensen davo@halcyon.com           Seattle, WA      USA
Grant McArthur   gmcarthu@fred.fhcrc.edu    Seattle, WA      USA
Kelli Munro      KBMunro@aol.com            Seattle, WA      USA  
Kersten Norlin                              Iron River, WI   USA
Peter Jones      jones@mscs.mu.edu          Milwaukee, WI    USA
Pat M.                                      Milwaukee, WI    USA
Paul MacAvauly   pdmacava@mail.delcoelect.com Milwaukee, WI  USA
Charles Marx                                La Crosse, WI    USA
Mike Walsh                                  Madison, WI      USA
Rob de Santos    73320.3575@compuserve.com  Vienna, WV       USA

Numerous people have also emailed me with comments, requests and encouragement. I also thank you. Meanwhile keep all those comments, requests (Most have been implemented!), emails and postcards rolling in. It is the only thing that encourages me to stay up at all hours entering the data each week! So get your city and name up on this list by sending in a postcard, let's make this list really long and have your postcard up on my wall............


AFL Merchandise in the USA

For merchandising info, see my link page


RFI: (Request for Information)
Got request for information? Email me and I will post it here for all to help with.

Ex-Pat Noticeboard:

Kansas City, USA - 7 Feb 1997
Jason Eustice <eustice@qni.com;&gt Says:-
We are a newly formed club, that has just formed in the last 6 mths in Kansas City USA. At the moment we are seeking players or people that are interested in participating with the growth of this club. If there are any Aussies or Americans out this way who are interested in helping me with the setup and training of players,please email me.

For any visitors or ex-pats in the New York Area, there is a pub called "Australia The Bar" that is really run by diggers, with satellite telly for the homesick. This is not to be confused with a yuppie hangout called The Outback. Aussies might also want to keep in mind that the Australian Consulate in midtown Manhattan has an all-you-can-drink piss up the first Thursday of every month for $15US, which while ostensibly a networking event is in truth a piss-up with suits on.


Peter Fennessy [pakpeter@rad.net.id] Says:
Here in Jakarta we all gather at the Orleans Restaurant in Kebayoran Baru, South Jakarta (Near Blok M) to watch the match of the day live from Melbourne. It starts at 1.00pm and finishes around 4.00pm local time.
We have a great meat tray raffle in true Australian tradition. there is a great atmosphere and sometime the proceedings kick on until dark. It is the perfect refuge for ex-pats who want to take out their frustrations on the umpire. Everyone is welcome.


Brenton Trafford [cctech@glink.net.hk] Says:-
The Australian Association in Hong Kong meets on a monthly basis at an event known as Sundowners. It is held the first Thursday of each month at the American Club in 47th Floor Exchange Square Two, Connaught Rd, Central Hong Kong. The entrance fee for non-members is HK$70 and drinks range from HK$20 to HK$30 (quite cheap for drinking in Hong Kong). They also put on a bit of a feed, mainly nibblies, and run a chook raffle. There are other events throughout the year but these are not regular occasions. There is a ball twice a year (The Australian Ball), black tie and around HK$800 a ticket. The best way is to contact the Association, tell them what you do (in terms of your page) and ask if they can put you on the mailing list

Brenton Trafford [bjtraff@glink.net.hk] Says:-
There is a group of Aussies who meet every Saturday Afternoon to watch the game of the day at Winner's Bar, Wyndham Street Central, Hong Kong. The game kicks off at 2pm, Happy Hour Starts at 3pm. They have a number of Big Screen TV's and they will turn the music off whilst the game is on. We'd like to see alot more Aussie's in there, whether they live in Hong Kong or are just passing through, all are Welcome.

David Ash [cctech@glink.net.hk] Says:-
With regards to the listing of Ex-pat organizations mentioned in your page, there is one in Hong Kong called the Australian Association of Hong Kong - 1st Floor, 28 Arbuthnot Rd, Central, Hong Kong tel:852-530-4461, fax: 852-530-4497. Unfortunately, as yet they are not on the "Net" so do not have a homepage or email address to supply. They do however have their own Aussie Rules Footy team!!!! These guys play regularly against the Aussie Navy (when it's in town) and other Aussie Association teams around the region like Singapore, Malaysia etc. Additionally, they also fly down to Darwin often to play some of the local teams there. Their standard of football is quite high as they have in the team a number of former AFL, VFL, SANFL and WAFL players. Once a year they organize a game where it is Victoria Vs The Rest. To date I don't think Vic has won.... :)


Billy Barker [billy@pacific.net.sg] Says:-
Thought you may like to know that there is an active club in Singapore- The Singapore Australian Football Club- The Wombats. We play against the Kuala Lumpur Tigers, Djakarta Bintangs, and teams from Tokyo and Hong Kong as well as any visiting Navy ships or Army units (thrashed HMAS Brisbane a few weeks back). Yesterday we played an intra-club game with 13 a side, close to the normal 14 necessary due to the small grounds here. If anyone is passing through and itching for a kick just email the coach.

My name's Col and I am President of the Singapore Australian Football Club, a pretty average ruck/C.H.Fwd (6'3" and 87kg) but love the game. We have a team list of around 25 players at the moment and compete against Aussie Army and Navy when they are on manouvres in the region aswell as against the other expat teams in Kuala Lumpur, Hong Kong, Jakarta and Tokyo. Last year we travelled to all of the mentioned cities and took the Asia Cup Championship which still resides with The Mighty Wombats (Singapore) here in sunny Singers.
If you have any surfers passing thru Singapore and want to strap on the boots for a trot on the old paddock one Sunday arvo, drop me a line (Wombats versus HMAS Canberra and HMAS Adelaide this Monday night - under lights at our home ground - yes we're pretty well organised up here.....cheap beers and hot pies - even if it will be 30 degC and 98 pct humidity).

Col Stimpson, President, S.A.F.C.


idcwc@po.jaring.my [Jonathan Lipshut] Says:-
The club playing out of K.L. is the M.A.R.K. Tigers. Training is at Mindef (Ministry of Defence) on Jalan Gurney, starting at around 6.00 p.m. every Wednesday. After the game we have drinks at our own pub/club rooms named "Caesars Palace" where we have drinks and watch football videos of the weekends game of the week which is videotaped off the satellite at the Australian High Commision. It's a great place for people who are new to Malaysia to meet people and get together a network of friends. If people are interested they can e-mail me directly or call me at my office on (03) 987-2971. The club president is Mr. Claus Etienne who can be contacted on 791-1129 (wk)


And while I am at it, If you know of any other Ex-pat organistations, magazines, Newsletters, meetings, etc, in any country, let me know and I will put the details up for all to access.

Got a request, looking for information ? Email me and I will put it up here for all to see and help answer!


Previous PageEmail me


Author: Darryl Harvey email: {darryl@myemail.com.au}
Last Updated: 9 Novemeber 1997

This site is sponsored by Footy Tipping Software